Rescanned Slides from NYC

As promised, here is the first batch of rescanned slides using my new dedicated film scanner. These are from June 2001, pre-911. Funny how that phrase “pre-911” has taken on a meaning onto its own. These were in June 2001. I came back to New York, on business again, in October – 6 weeks after 911. I also have some pictures that I will post from then, but i simply can’t post all of them as they are deeply personal and emotional. My scanner has handled most of these slides very well. I was shooting Fuji Velvia 50 slide film. In short, I didn’t know what I was doing. I didn’t understand the narrow exposure latitude of slide film, and therefore exposed them wrong. I’ve never had good scans of these until now. At least they’re presentable.

Banco Americano. Discovered this behind Chase Manhattan.

Midtown Manhattan from World Trade Center South.

Lower Manhattan from World Trade Center South

Sunday in Manhattan. To the left of Banco Americano. This was still there a few years later.

Posted via email from The Photography of Neil Kesterson

Leave a Reply

